A2 Media Briefs

For our main task video we get to choose from an option of four briefs:

Audio (Music Video):

A promotion package for the release of an album, to include a music promo video, no longer than five minutes duration, together with two of the following:

  • A cover for its release as part of a digipack (CD package)
  • ›A magazine advertisement for the album release
  • ›A website homepage for the band

I think that music video’s are extremely hard to make as you need advanced technical skills, especially editing as in many music video’s there are lots of different locations and shots and use synchronous sound to match the cuts and whats happening on-screen with the music. However, if I can become more confident in editing and advance my skills then this would be a great brief to choose.

Professional example:

Student example:

Short Film:

A short film in its entirety, lasting approximately five minutes, which may be live action or animation or a combination of both, together with two of the following:

  • ›A poster for the film
  • A film magazine review page featuring the film
  • A website homepage for the film

I love the idea of making a short film as I could choose any genre and be creative. I like the technical aspects and the details that will need to be included such as mise-en-scene and sound. Also, due to my love of films, I would love to make my own one and therefore learn how to make them and gain experience. Furthermore, I already have some idea of what I’d like to do for this brief and I believe it would be amazing if I can pull off the idea. I would make a poster to promote the film and a magazine review.

Professional example (made by Pixar):

Student example:

Advertising:

An advertising package for a new product or service, to include two TV advertisements, together with two of the following:

  • A TV programme sponsorship sequence
  • A radio advertisement
  • A web pop-up

I like the idea of doing an advert however, I don’t think it would be creative enough for me as most adverts are minimalistic. On the other hand, I’d love to learn how to make a web pop-up.

Professional example:

Student examples:

Film Trailer:

A promotion package for a new film, to include a teaser trailer, together with two of the following:

  • A film magazine front cover, featuring the film
  • A poster for the film
  • A website homepage for the film

I believe a film trailer would be extremely hard to make as you need lots of different locations and lots of shots as in a trailer there are usually many short shots and lots of cuts. This will make filming it difficult as I would need to find many locations and spend lots of time filming in order to get many short scenes which can be used.

Professional example:

Student example:

Leave a Reply

